Google+ Followers

Google+ Followers

Wednesday, December 19, 2018

Happy Holidays!


Seasons Greetings 
         Wishing you a Joyous Holiday and a New Year filled with Peace and Happiness.
 
Image: Anne Marchand. Refuge. 2018. 48 x 60 in. 
www.annemarchand.com

   Copyright © 2018 Anne Marchand Art, All rights reserved.

      Sign Up for Anne Marchand Studio News Here

Thursday, December 06, 2018

Capitol File Magazine Article Features ”District of Colors," DC Artists: Sam Gilliam, Jason Kaempf, Anne Marchand and Maggie O'Neil



Editor Michael Clements highlights D.C. artists using vibrant colors
in the December issue of Capitol File Magazine. 
To see the full Magazine Article Click HERE  Enjoy!





Full disclosure: I am featured in this article. ~ Anne Marchand


Friday, November 30, 2018

Paintings by Bradley Stevens Opens December 7 at Zenith

Zenith Gallery Presents:
Museum Studies II: Honoring the Female Perspective
        Enlightenment, 36” x 34”, oil on linen 
Paintings by Bradley Stevens

Exhibit Dates:
December 7, 2018 – January 19, 2019

Opening Reception to Meet the Artist:
December 7th, 5-8pm 
December 8th, 2-6pm, Gallery Talk at 3pm 
At 
1429 Iris St NW Washington DC 20012

In this new series of paintings, Bradley Stevens honors the artists who have influenced him and the museum-goers,in this case, all women––whom he sees as the vanguard of art, culture, and progress in these times.
By returning to his theme of museum interiors, Stevens relives his student years copying Master paintings at the National Gallery of Art and implements the lessons these artists have taught him. With his mastery of color, composition, and gesture, he lures us into the gallery and creates the intimacy of experiencing art. Inspired by the resurgence of the women’s movement, he has chosen to feature women as advocates of these hallowed museum spaces.  Their poses and expressions reveal complete captivation with and immersion in the art, such that the physical and psychological act of “looking” is the subject.
Stevens’ introspective museum studies are a meditation on the enduring power of art to educate, inspire, and transcend, and on women’s leadership to protect its place in our society.

Gallery Hours: Wednesday-Saturday, 12 – 6pm, or by appointment  202-783-2963

Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Get ready DC, Superfine Fair is coming - OCT 31-NOV 4


ARTISTS: 

LENNOX F. CAMPELLO
DARLENE DAVIS (PATERA KORI STUDIOS)
ELISA FARROW-SAVOS
MARGERY GOLDBERG
STEPHEN HANSEN
LEN HARRIS
CHRIS HAYMAN
PHIL HAZARD
BERNIE HOUSTON
HUBERT JACKSON
JOAN KONKEL
ANITA KUNZ
ANNE MARCHAND
KRISTINE MAYS
CAROL NEWMYER
KEITH NORVAL
LARRY RINGGOLD
SUZY SCARBOROUGH
GAVIN SEWELL
BRADLEY STEVENS
CURTIS WOODY
 

FIND US AT BOOTH #1

more information at https://superfine.world/exhibit-dc/

10/31 - 11/4 2018 | Dock 5 at Union Market


1309 5th Street Northeast 
Dock 5 Event Space 
Washington, DC 20002

My work will be exhibited at this coming fair by Zenith Gallery.
www.annemarchand.com

Tuesday, September 25, 2018

Works by 47 Artists Featured in “Recollection: Celebrating 15 Years of Exhibitions at BlackRock Center for the Arts”


Special gallery exhibit on view through October 13 at nonprofit arts center located in Upper Montgomery County

EXHIBIT LOCATION:
Kay Gallery (main level) & Terrace Gallery (upper level)
BlackRock Center for the Arts
12901 Town Commons Drive, Germantown, MD 20874

INFORMATION: 301-528-2260

FREE & OPEN TO THE PUBLIC

GALLERY HOURS: Monday – Saturday from 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
*Also open select evening and Sunday hours when performances are offered. Please call to confirm.

As part of a year-long celebration commemorating the 15th anniversary of BlackRock Center for the Arts, the nonprofit arts center presents “Recollection,” an exhibition featuring a selection of artists who have shown their work in their galleries during the past 15 years. On display in both the Kay Gallery and the Terrace Gallery, the “Recollection exhibit includes pieces by 47 artists in a range of media from drawing, painting, collage, photography, and printmaking to works of sculpture, assemblage, glass, fiber, clay and wood.

The exhibiting artists are Fran Abrams, Christian Benefiel, Ronald Beverly, Sabine Carlson, Eric Celarier, Chris Chernow, Chayo de Chevez, Lesley Clarke, Bobby Coleman, Jacqui Crocetta, Joel D’Orazio, Catherine Day, Oletha DeVane, Lisa Egeli, Ric Garcia, Mark Giaimo, Aziza Claudia Gibson-Hunter, Carol Brown Goldberg, Lee Goodwin, Pat Goslee, Matthew Grimes, Sean Hennessey, Ellen Hill, Scott Hutchison, Melanie Kehoss, Kit-Keung Kan, Zofie King, Chee Kung, Renee Lachman, Amy Lin, Tamryn McDermott, Anne Marchand, Greg Minah, Lincoln Mudd, Cory Oberndorfer, Beverly Ryan, Deanna Schwartzberg, Mike Shaffer, Bobbi Shulman, Ellen Sinel, Michael Enn Sirvet, Diane Szczepaniak, Marsha Staiger, Renee Van der Stelt, Sharon Wolpoff, Jenny Wu and Joyce Zipperer.

Drawings in the exhibit have often been developed through a stream-of-consciousness process where dense imagined foliage is outlined by black paint pen in “What We Cannot Touch” by Carol Brown Goldberg, improvisational ink lines define a space between gravity and weightlessness in “Riff I” by Chee Kung, delicate linked circles frame or are obscured beneath holes cut in the multi-layered “Melpomenia’s Edge” by Amy Lin, or graphite drawings of black rocks allow viewers a live comparison with the actual subjects in “Point, Line & Stone I & II” by Renee Van der Stelt. Paintings on display include those that freeze the action as when artists pour, spin and tilt the canvas to put paint in motion in “the very outset” by Greg Minah and “Lumen Naturae” by Anne Marchand, gentle brushstrokes of ink and watercolor on rice paper manage to momentarily halt the powerful flow of waterfalls in “Falling Water CXVII” by Kit-Keung Kan, and transparent glazes of oil paint capture the sequential motion of shifting glances in the portrait “The Decision” by Scott Hutchison.

 

Traditional brushwork dances across the reflective surface of a sublime waterscape in “Revisiting” by Lisa Egeli, or highlights the unexpected beauty found at the rear of a building in “Alley Back of Second Street” by Sharon Wolpoff, but bursts of spray paint encase a treat in a frozen haze in “Strawberry Shortcake” by Cory Oberndorfer. Photographs range from a still and quiet scene on the C&O Canal in the silver gelatin print “Lock 7 in Fog” by Lee Goodwin to the vibrant and dynamic swirl of light tracking movements made by dancers in “Aurora #7” by Ronald Beverly.

 

Collage and assemblage works transform found objects as they are combined to examine gentrification in “We Knew There Was a Plan” by Aziza Claudia-Gibson Hunter, or to explore the science and psychology of drug studies in “Nocebo” by Zofie King, and simply take on a visual role as wood and ivory piano keys removed from their instrument form a flared skirt in “Span” by Renee Lachman and the collection of circuit boards collected from discarded electronic devices create a topographical landscape in “Network AVC #1307” by Eric Celarier. Sculpture in the exhibit often gives new life to unexpected materials as do the pen caps used as handlebars for a sleek tricycle that doubles as an unwearable high-heel shoe in “Hell on Wheels” by Joyce Zipperer and the lengths of plastic weed wacker line that makes an elegant fashion statement when woven and burned at the ends in “Nina Chair” by Joel D’Orazio, or the 3D printed self-portrait cast in iron to form the “head” of a hammer that was used to pound the nail on display in “Studio, Practice” by Christian Benefiel.

 

Since opening in the fall of 2002, BlackRock Center for the Arts has been continuously presenting a vibrant series of solo and group exhibitions highlighting the work of hundreds of visual artists from across the Metropolitan Washington and Baltimore area and the Mid-Atlantic region. Each year the community has the opportunity to connect and engage with both emerging and established artists presenting their work in the nonprofit center’s two beautiful gallery spaces. This special exhibition seeks to celebrate all of the talented artists who have shown their work in the galleries at BlackRock during the past 15 years by displaying a variety of works that is clearly only a small sampling. The exhibition “Recollection: Celebrating 15 Years of Exhibitions” was curated by Anne Burton the Gallery Director at BlackRock. This special group show will be on view through Saturday, October 13, 2018 in both the Kay Gallery, located on the main level, and the Terrace Gallery, located on the upper level, at BlackRock Center for the Arts in Germantown, MD. Admission to the exhibitions and the galleries at BlackRock is always free.

To learn more about the exhibiting artists, please visit their websites:

Fran Abrams |  www.franabrams.com

Christian Benefiel |  www.christianbenefiel.com

Ronald Beverly |  http://boxlightstudios.com

Sabine Carlson |  www.sabinecarlson.com

Eric Celarier |  www.ericcelarier.com

Chris Chernow |  www.chrischernow.com
Chayo de Chevez |  https://chayodechevez.co/
Lesley Clarke |  www.lesleyclarkeart.com

Bobby Coleman |  www.bobbycolemanart.com

Jacqui Crocetta |  www.jacquicrocetta.com
Joel D’Orazio |  www.joeldorazio.com
Catherine Day  |  www.catherineday.net
Oletha DeVane |  www.olethadevane.com
Lisa Egeli |  www.LisaEgeli.com
Ric Garcia |  www.ricgarciastudio.com

Mark Giaimo |  www.markgiaimo.com

Aziza Claudia Gibson-Hunter |  http://gibsonhunterstudio.com/

Carol Brown Goldberg |  www.carolbrowngoldberg.com

Lee Goodwin |  www.leegoodwin.com

Pat Goslee  |  http://patgoslee.com/

Matthew Grimes |  https://matthew-grimes.format.com

Ellen Hill |  www.ellenhillart.com

Scott Hutchison |  www.scotthutchison.com

Melanie Kehoss |  www.kehoss.com

Kit-Keung Kan |  https://artofkitkeungkan.wordpress.com

Zofie King |  www.zofieking.com

Chee Kung |  www.kungcheekeong.com
Renee Lachman  |  www.msac.org/artists/renee-lachman

Amy Lin |  www.amylinart.com

Tamryn McDermott |  www.tamrynmcdermott.com

Anne Marchand |  www.annemarchand.com

Greg Minah |  www.gregminah.com

Lincoln Mudd | 

Cory Oberndorfer |  www.coryoberndorfer.com
Beverly Ryan |  www.beverlyryan.com

Deanna Schwartzberg |  www.deannaschwartzberg.com

Mike Shaffer |  http://mikeshaffer.net/

Bobbi Shulman  www.bobbishulman.com

Ellen Sinel |  http://ellensinel.com/

Michael Enn Sirvet |  https://sirvet.com

Diane Szczepaniak |  www.dianeszczepaniak.com

Marsha Staiger |  http://www.marshastaiger.me
Renee Van der Stelt |  https://reneevanderstelt.com/

Sharon Wolpoff  |  www.sharonwolpoff.com

Jenny Wu www.jennywu.art

Joyce Zipperer  |  www.zipperer-sculpture.com

ABOUT BLACKROCK CENTER FOR THE ARTS: BlackRock Center for the Arts is a cultural cornerstone and the leading venue for the performing and visual arts in Upper Montgomery County Maryland. Since 2002, the nonprofit arts center has been providing the community with diverse performing arts programs, free gallery exhibitions and arts education experiences in a welcoming and intimate setting close to home. The dynamic facility houses two art galleries presenting more than 15 exhibitions per year, two theaters presenting more than 30 performances per year, and numerous classrooms and studios where year-round classes, workshops and camps in the performing and visual arts are offered for all ages. 

FREE PARKING & RIDE ON BUS 15-MINUTE EXPRESS SERVICE FROM SHADY GROVE METRO: BlackRock Center for the Arts is centrally located in the heart of Germantown, next to the Germantown Public Library, at 12901 Town Commons Drive, Germantown, MD 20874. Free parking is available in the lot at the rear of our building and along the street. Ride Metrorail to Shady Grove Station (Red Line) and transfer to Ride On Bus Route 100 (15-minute Express Bus Service from Shady Grove Station to the Germantown Transit Center [GTC] on Aircraft Drive). From GTC, walk four blocks west, following Century Boulevard to our front door. Check routes and schedules by calling 240-777-7433 or visiting: www.rideonbus.com and www.metroopensdoors.com

Monday, September 17, 2018

Diversity and Identity: Renée duRocher


"Renée duRocher has taken her place in the Canadian visual arts community through patience and determination. Her exhibition, Diversity and Identity, is inspired by a recent visit to northern Vietnam and the literary work of Vietnamese-born Canadian author Kim Thùy. Diversity and Identity tells the stories of this journey. Rice fields, lush tamarinds, and characters dressed in traditional costumes poetically illustrate her trip. Combined with literary snapshots selected by novelist Kim Thùy, the selected pictorial works are enhanced and focus upon the Vietnamese community."

The exhibition is open from July 30, 2018, through October 27, 2018. The Embassy’s art gallery is located next to the Newseum at 501 Pennsylvania Avenue NW and is open to the public Monday to Friday, 9am-5pm, free of charge.

Embassy of Canada Art Gallery
501 Pennsylvania Ave., NW
The exhibition is sponsored by Bombardier, Inc.
Canadian Artist Ponders ‘Diversity and Identity’ in Visual Diary of Vietnam By Kate Oczypok 
----

duRocher has another exhibit in D.C. at the Zenith Gallery, Eleven Eleven Sculpture Space, Traveling Full Circle through January 5, 2019. 
FEATURING ARTISTS: Lisa Battle  Richard Binder  Patera Kori Studios (Darlene Davis)  Renée duRocher  Anne Marchand Jerome Parmet
https://culturecapital.com/event/64665/traveling-full-circle