Google+ Followers

Google+ Followers

Monday, November 07, 2011

Caramel Hosts 2nd Annual Silent Auction and Art Sale Benefiting Loaves and Fishes


!Save the Date!

2nd Annual Silent Auction and Art Sale
Benefiting Loaves and Fishes
Thursday, November 17 from 6-9 PM

Caramel boutique announces a special event on Thursday, November 17 from 6-9 PM at Caramel, 1603 U Street, NW. The 2nd annual fundraising event will benefit Loaves and Fishes, a local meal program serving low income and homeless individuals in the Mount Pleasant and Columbia Heights communities. 

Attendees at the event will have the opportunity to bid on silent auction items, participate in a raffle, purchase the work of local artists and photographers, enjoy live entertainment and complimentary refreshments, meet Loaves and Fishes staff and volunteers, and learn more about homelessness in the Washington DC area.
 
Proceeds from the silent auction, art, raffle and clothing sales will benefit the Loaves and Fishes program. In 2010, the proceeds raised helped purchase two new ovens for the program’s kitchen.
There are many wonderful Silent auction items to bid on including art, food, gift certificates, jewelry, spa, beauty and hotel stays to name a few. 

Each of the following artists have generously offered to contribute 50% of sales during the event to the Loaves and Fishes program:

Diana Adams http://studiodiana.com/
Sondra Arkin http://www.sondranarkin.com/
Mary Lee Barker
Sherry L. Brukbacher www.brukbacher.com/blog
Mason Calhoun http://masoncalhoun.com/
Mei Mei Chang http://meimeichang.com/
Antoinette Charles http://acharlesphotography.com/
Sam Dixon http://www.samdixon.org/
Thomas Drymon http://thomasdrymon.com/
Sally Kauffman http://www.sallykauffman.com/
Dave Peterson http://www.branddave.com/freehand/home.html
Dafna Steinberg http://dafnasteinberg.com/home.html
Amin Swessi http://www.aminswessi.com/

Food donated by Whole Foods. Wine from Total Wine & More.  

Donations to Loaves and Fishes are welcomed. There is no charge to attend the event and complimentary refreshments will be served.  
Loaves and Fishes (http://www.loavesandfishesdc.org/) originated as a church coffee “happy hour” at St. Stephen's Episcopal Church (1525 Newton Street, NW) in 1968.  Loaves and Fishes currently provides nutritious meals on Saturdays, Sundays and all federal holidays, serving approximately 175 people per day.  Since most Washington DC food programs serve only on weekdays, the program offers a crucial service to its guests, some of whom travel across the city to be able to eat on the weekend.


“The ability to serve those in need is invaluable and essential to supporting and nurturing our community,” said Hazel Cummings, Director of Loaves and Fishes.  “It is a blessing to not only serve people in the community, but also work alongside amazingly thoughtful and giving volunteers who donate their time and resources to the Loaves and Fishes program.”

Caramel’s owner, Sarah Watkins, is a former volunteer and Project Coordinator for the Loaves and Fishes program. “I volunteered at Loaves and Fishes for over seven years, and during that time I witnessed first-hand the enormous impact the program has on the community and how essential these meal services are to those in need,” said Watkins.

Caramel
1603 U Street, NW
Washington, DC 20009
202+265-1930

No comments:

Post a Comment