Thursday, April 15, 2010

2010 Janet & Walter Sondheim Artscape Prize Finalists Announced

Winner receives $25,000

Mayor Stephanie Rawlings-Blake and the Baltimore Office of Promotion & The Arts announce the finalists for the Janet & Walter Sondheim Artscape Prize.  The seven finalists are Leah Cooper, Ryan Hackett, Matthew Janson, Nate Larson, Christopher LaVoie, Matthew Porterfield and Karen Yasinsky. 
The prize is designed to assist visual artists or visual artist collaborators in furthering their careers by awarding a $25,000 fellowship.  The winner of the fifth annual competition will be announced during an award ceremony on Saturday, July 10 at 7pm at The Baltimore Museum of Art, located at 10 Art Museum Drive.  The Janet & Walter Sondheim Artscape Prize is held in conjunction with the annual Artscape juried exhibition and is produced by the Baltimore Office of Promotion & The Arts. The finalists and semifinalists exhibitions are presented in partnership with The Baltimore Museum of Art (BMA) and Maryland Institute College of Art (MICA).  

An exhibition of the finalists' work will be shown in the Alvin and Fanny B. Thalheimer Galleries of the BMA on Saturday, June 19 through Sunday, August 1.  The Sondheim Artscape Prize winner will be selected after a review of the art installed at the BMA and an interview with each finalist by the jurors.  The jurors for this year's competition are Robert Nickas, Magdalena Sawon and Hamza Walker.  During the weekend of Artscape, an exhibition featuring the semifinalists' work will be displayed at the Decker and Meyerhoff galleries of MICA, located at 1303 West Mount Royal Avenue.  Artscape, America's largest free celebration of the arts takes place Friday, July 16 and Saturday, July 17 from noon-10pm and Sunday, July 18 from noon-8pm on Mount Royal Avenue and North Charles Street.


No comments:

Post a Comment